Mayor Tab Townsell

City Attorney Michael Murphy

City Clerk/Treasurer Michael O. Garrett



City Council Members

Ward 1 Position 1 – Andy Hawkins Ward 1 Position 2 – David Grimes Ward 2 Position 1 – Mark Vaught Ward 2 Position 2 – Shelley Mehl Ward 3 Position 1 – Jim Rhodes Ward 3 Position 2 – Mary Smith Ward 4 Position 1 – Theodore Jones, Jr. Ward 4 Position 2 – Shelia Whitmore

# City of Conway, Arkansas City Council Brief January 12<sup>th</sup>, 2010

On this date the City Council of the City of Conway, Arkansas met in regular session. The following members being a quorum, were present and acting; Alderman Hawkins, Alderwoman Smith, Alderman Grimes, Alderwoman Whitmore, Alderwoman Mehl, Alderman Vaught, Alderman Jones, and Alderman Rhodes. Also, present and acting: Mayor Tab Townsell, City Clerk/Treasurer Michael Garrett, and City Attorney Michael Murphy.

## At its meeting the Conway City Council took the following actions:

## Ordinances Passed:

- Ordinance {O-10-01} authorizing the issuance of industrial development revenue bonds for USABLE Corporation. *Vote 8-0*
- Ordinance {O-10-02} amending Title 5 (Health & Sanitation) of the Conway Municipal Code as related to a curb violation. *Vote 8-0*
- Ordinance {O-10-03} to rezone property at 1114 Gum Street from R-2 to C-3. Vote 8-0
- Ordinance {O-10-04} appropriating asset forfeiture funds in the amount of \$3,325 to cover a reclassification of a position within the Conway Police Department. *Vote 8-0*
- Ordinance {O-10-05} appropriating insurance proceeds in the amount of \$2620 received for damages to Engine 7 for the Conway Fire Department. *Vote 8-0*
- Ordinance {O-10-06} appropriating funds in the amount of \$17, 795 for an increase in compensation for certain employees (department heads) for the FY2010 budget. *Vote 6-2 w/ Alderman Hawkins & Vaught voting against.*

## **Ordinances Failed: None**

## **Resolutions Passed:**

- Resolution {R-10-01} setting a public hearing to discuss the closing of a 10' Utility easement located near the north boundary of Lot 11 of I-40 Replat at 565 Amity Road. *Vote 8-0*
- Resolution {R-10-02 requesting the Faulkner County Tax Collector to place a certified lien on property located at <u>2104 Sugar Creek</u> as a result of incurred expenses by the City. *Vote 8-0*
- Resolution {R-10-03} requesting the Faulkner County Tax Collector to place a certified lien on property located at <u>324 & 326 Hereford</u> as a result of incurred expenses by the City. *Vote 8-0*

- Resolution {R-10-04} requesting the Faulkner County Tax Collector to place a certified lien on property located at <u>2 Eva Lane</u> as a result of incurred expenses by the City. *Vote 8-0*
- Resolution {R-10-05} requesting the Faulkner County Tax Collector to place a certified lien on property located at <u>615 Donaghey Avenue</u> as a result of incurred expenses by the City. *Vote 8-0*

#### **Resolutions Failed: None**

### **Other Actions:**

### In other actions, the City Council:

- Approved the minutes from December 22<sup>nd</sup>, 2009 City Council Meeting. *Vote 8-0*
- Approved a conditional use permit to allow MF-3 density in MF-2 zoning for the property located south and east of the intersection of Denison Street and West Martin. *Vote 8-0*
- Approved to purchase several bike racks (\$7500) from SFI of Conway for all City facilities & Downtown areas. *Vote 7-0-1 with Alderwoman Mehl abstaining.*
- Approved to accept the low bid from Surveillance Systems Integration for CCTV components in the amount of \$14,911 for the Sanitation Department & District Court. *Vote 8-0*
- Approved to reclassify a crime analyst position to an Administrative Assistant I position at the Conway Police Department. *Vote 8-0*
- Approved to reclassify a patrol officer position to a sergeant position at the Conway Police Department for Special Events/Traffic Unit. *Vote 8-0*

#### Announcements & Recognition:

2010 Officer of the Year: Chris Mitchell 2010 Firefighter of the Year: Wayne Hartness