City Council Members

Mayor Tab Townsell

City Attorney Michael Murphy

City Clerk/Treasurer Michael O. Garrett



Ward 1 Position 1 - Andy Hawkins Ward 1 Position 2 – David Grimes Ward 2 Position 1 – Mark Vaught Ward 2 Position 2 – Shelley Mehl Ward 3 Position 1 – Jim Rhodes Ward 3 Position 2 – Mary Smith Ward 4 Position 1 – Theodore Jones, Jr. Ward 4 Position 2 – Shelia Whitmore

City of Conway, Arkansas City Council Brief February 23rd, 2010

On this date the City Council of the City of Conway, Arkansas met in regular session. The following members being a quorum, were present and acting; Alderman Hawkins, Alderwoman Smith, Alderman Grimes, Alderwoman Mehl, Alderman Vaught, Alderman Jones. The following members were not present Alderman Rhodes & Alderwoman Whitmore. Also, present and acting: Mayor Tab Townsell, City Clerk/Treasurer Michael Garrett, and City Attorney Michael Murphy.

At its meeting the Conway City Council took the following actions:

Ordinances Passed:

- Ordinance {O-10-12} repealing and replacing by reference ORD No. O-02-124 which established the ٠ Conway Historic District Commission and ORD No. O-04-43 which created the Robinson Historic District with 2010 Historic District Commission standards. Vote 6-0
- Ordinance {O-10-13} accepting a capital grant in the amount of \$600,00 from the Advertising and Promotion Commission for the Conway Fairground Complex. Vote 6-0
- Ordinance {O-10-14} accepting grant funds & approving the Mayor to enter into agreements with ADEQ for a diesel emission reduction project for the Conway Sanitation Department. Vote 6-0
- Ordinance {O-10-15} accepting restitution funds in the amount of \$66,381 for overtime performed by the Conway Police Department personnel. Vote 6-0
- Ordinance {O-10-16} appropriating reimbursement funds in the amount of \$3244.23 from the Secret Service to the Conway Police Department. Vote 6-0
- Ordinance {O-10-17} authorizing a headcount reclassification from full time position to part time position in the Conway Finance Department. Vote 6-0
- Ordinance {O-10-18} establishing a permitting process and privilege permit for selling or dispensing any controlled beverage. Vote 5-1 w/ Alderman Vaught voting against.

Ordinances Failed: None

Resolutions Passed:

Resolution {R-10-07} certifying local government endorsement of RockTenn to participate in the Targeted Tax Back program. Vote 6-0

- Resolution {R-10-08} authorizing the execution, sale and delivery of water revenue refunding bonds for Conway Corporation. Vote 5-0 w/ Alderman Vaught not present at time of voting.
- Resolution {R-10-09} indicating the vacation "cash out" option under the employee handbook will not be offered for the 2010 Budget Year. Vote 6-0

Resolutions Failed: None

Other Actions:

In other actions, the City Council:

- Approved the minutes from January 26th & February 12th, 2010 City Council Meeting. *Vote 6-0* ٠
- Approved to waive RFP's for a third party auditor for a schedule of rates & program of work to audit the City's financial position, to solicit bids from banks and any other financial institutions on a loan for the recycling sorter and for the police cars, and include the formation of an audit committee. (Main Motion, passed 6-0)
 - o Approved to authorize the Mayor to negotiate with Thomas & Thomas a program of work and schedule of rates. Vote 5-1 w/ Alderman Smith voting against.
 - Approved the delay of all major capital purchases in the Sanitation Department. Vote 6-0
 - o Approved to cut the following program (Downtown Partnership \$40,000 & Chamber of Commerce -\$40,000) from the general fund and moved the transportation programs (Senior Citizens Transportation - \$45,000, FCCDD Transportation - \$30,000 & Boys & Girls Club (\$12,500) to the Street fund and cut the Bean Street Improvements. Vote 6-0
- Approved for the City of Conway (Conway Corporation) to enter into an agreement with the Beaverfork Water District to establish service boundaries. Vote 6-0
- Approved to reappoint the following members to the Building Code Boards of Appeals, Judy Corcoran (1 year term), Gene Hendrix (1 year term) & Jim Bonds (4 year term). Vote 6-0
- Approved a conditional use permit to allow religious assembly in an SP/TP4 zone for the property • located at 1109 Gum Street. Vote 6-0
- Approved to adopt the Robinson Historic District Design Guidelines. Vote 6-0
- Approved Street Impact Fee Projects, Corridor Street Projects (thru number 9 listed) & 2010 Street Improved Projects. Vote 6-0
- Approved to delay implementation of Resolution R-09-67 for an additional ninety days, which was a ٠ condemnation (swimming pool) of property located at 23 Shady Valley Drive. Vote 6-0
- Approved to enter into an agreement with various entities for scoreboard sponsorship at the City of Colleges Park. Vote 6-0
- Approved the following bids for Sanitation Department. Vote 6-0 ٠

| 0 | Replacement Overhead Doors: Royal Overhead Door Inc | \$55,000.00 |
|---|--|--------------|
| 0 | Electrical Services – Willbanks Wee-Con Du It Electric Inc | \$42,575.00 |
| 0 | Below Grade Pit – Nabholz Construction | \$19,958.00 |
| 0 | Platforms & Stairs – Cubic Design | \$192,500.00 |

- Approved to advertise for nominations for a six year term on the Conway Civil Service Commission. Vote 6-0
- Approved to enter into an agreement with Conway Housing Authority for a community policing ٠ officer. Vote 6-0
- Approved to accept the bid from TCSware for Mobile Vision Camera System in the amount of ٠ \$57,239 for placement in vehicles for the Conway Police Department. Vote 6-0

Announcements & Recognition:

| 5 years | Jason Murphy, Landfill Manager | Sanitation |
|---------|--------------------------------|--------------------|
| | Anthony Irvin, CDL Driver | Sanitation |
| | Trey Price, Complex Manager | Parks & Recreation |
| | | |

20 years Sgt. Jim Barrett Donald Beene, CDL Driver Police Sanitation

Held in Committee/No action taken:

Resolution expressing the intent of the City of Conway to pursue development/deployment of a bus • transit system.

Next City Council Meeting: March 9th, 2010@ 5:30pm Deadline: March 2nd, 2010 @ 12:00pm Email all submittals to felicia.rogers@cityofconway.org