Mayor Tab Townsell

City Attorney Michael Murphy

City Clerk/Treasurer Michael O. Garrett



City Council Members

Ward 1 Position 1 – Andy Hawkins Ward 1 Position 2 – David Grimes Ward 2 Position 1 – Mark Vaught Ward 2 Position 2 – Shelley Mehl Ward 3 Position 1 – Jim Rhodes Ward 3 Position 2 – Mary Smith Ward 4 Position 1 – Theodore Jones, Jr. Ward 4 Position 2 – Shelia Whitmore

City of Conway, Arkansas City Council Brief March 23rd, 2010

On this date the City Council of the City of Conway, Arkansas met in regular session. The following members being a quorum, were present and acting; Alderman Hawkins, Alderwoman Smith, Alderman Grimes, Alderwoman Mehl, Alderman Vaught, Alderman Jones, Alderman Rhodes & Alderwoman Whitmore. Also, present and acting: Mayor Tab Townsell, City Clerk/Treasurer Michael Garrett, and City Attorney Michael Murphy.

At its meeting the Conway City Council took the following actions:

Ordinances Passed:

- Ordinance {O-10-25} revising the nuisance abatement and property maintenance chapter of the Conway Municipal Code & revising the sign ordinance. *Vote 8-0*
- Ordinance {O-10-26} to rezone property located south of Bay Town Drive at the western terminus of Burnt Pine Drive from A-1 to R-1. Vote 8-0
- Ordinance {O-10-27} to rezone property located at 1915 Richsmith Drive from O-1 to MF-3. *Vote 6-2 w/ Alderman Rhodes & Alderwoman Whitmore voting against.*
- Ordinance {O-10-28} amending the Conway Sign Ordinance, (section 1301) in reference to preexisting non conforming signs. *Vote 8-0*
- Ordinance {O-10-29} amending the municipal code Title 12 (Lake Beaverfork) in regards to structures (Section 22). *Vote 8-0*
- Ordinance {O-10-30} appropriating funds for asphalt paving and stripping of the additional parking lot at City of College Park. *Vote 8-0*
- Ordinance {O-10-31} prohibiting smoking and the use of tobacco products in Parks & Recreation areas in the City of Conway. *Vote 7-1 w/ Alderman Vaught voting against.*
- Ordinance {O-10-32} appropriating funds in the amount of \$12,873 from District Court automation fund for a surveillance system. *Vote 8-0*
- Ordinance {O-10-33} adopting budget adjustments for City of Conway. Vote 8-0

Ordinances Failed: None

Resolutions Passed:

- Resolution {R-10-10} authorizing the Mayor to acknowledge a unanimous consent of bondholders relating to the City's' outstanding taxable industrial development revenue bonds (Hewlett Packard Company Project). *Vote 8-0*
- Resolution {R-10-11} establishing the intent of the City of Conway to annex certain lands comprise of 73.8 acres located north of Highway 319, west of the Conway City limits commonly known as Cadron Settlement Park. *Vote 8-0*

Resolutions Failed: None

Other Actions:

In other actions, the City Council:

- Approved the minutes from March 9th, 2010 City Council Meeting. Vote 8-0
- Approved the nomination of John Adams to the Conway Corp Board of Directors for a seven year term. *Vote 8-0*
- Approved the nomination of Jeffrey Boucher to the Conway Civil Service Commission for a six year term. *Vote 6-2 with Alderman Grimes and Alderwoman Mehl voting against.*
- Approved the removal of an unauthorized boat dock located on Beaverfork Lake at property located 26 Lakeview Drive. *Vote 8-0*
- Approved entering into an agreement with Youth Softball Association of Conway (YSAC) and (UCA) for rental use of Jefferson D. Farris Junior Softball Fields. *Vote 8-0*
- Approved entering an agreement with University of Arkansas Cooperative Extensive Service to provide horticulture/agriculture educational programming for the City of Conway. *Vote 8-0*
- Approved a memo of understanding between the City of Conway and Conway Corporation. *Vote 8-0*

Held in Committee/No action taken:

 Ordinance amending the Conway Sign Ordinance, Section 1301 of the Conway Zoning Ordinance O-09-54. Vote 8-0

Employee Service Awards:

<u>15 Years:</u> Detective Chris Mitchell – Police Dept.

20 Years:

Capt. Phil Kirkland – Fire Dept. Lt. Kevin Moix – Fire Dept. Dist. Chief Charles Prout – Fire Dept. Dist Chief Robin Roberts – Fire Dept. Tony Harrington – Physical Plant Director

Next City Council Meeting: April 13th, 2010 @ 5:30pm Deadline: April 6th, 2010 @ 12:00pm Email all submittals to <u>felicia.rogers@cityofconway.org</u>