City Council Members

Mayor Tab Townsell

City Attorney Michael Murphy

City Clerk/Treasurer Michael O. Garrett



Ward 1 Position 1 – Andy Hawkins Ward 1 Position 2 – David Grimes Ward 2 Position 1 – Mark Vaught Ward 2 Position 2 – Shelley Mehl Ward 3 Position 1 – Jim Rhodes Ward 3 Position 2 – Mary Smith Ward 4 Position 1 – Theodore Jones, Jr. Ward 4 Position 2 – Shelia Whitmore

City of Conway, Arkansas City Council Brief July 27th, 2010 www.cityofconway.org

On this date the City Council of the City of Conway, Arkansas met in regular session. The following members being a quorum, were present and acting; Alderman Hawkins, Alderman Grimes, Alderwoman Smith, Alderwoman Mehl, Alderman Vaught, Alderman Rhodes, Alderman Jones, & Alderwoman Whitmore. Also, present and acting: Mayor Tab Townsell, City Clerk/Treasurer Michael Garrett, and City Attorney Michael Murphy.

At its meeting the Conway City Council took the following actions:

Ordinances Passed:

- Ordinance {O-10-80} to accept grant proceeds in the amount of \$5400 and to appropriate funds for the Historic District Commission to be administered by the Planning Department. *Vote 8-0*
- Ordinance {O-10-81} accepting a donation from Conway Cobras in the amount of \$218 for scholarships in the youth baseball program at the Conway Parks Department. *Vote 8-0*
- Ordinance {O-10-82} appropriating funds in the amount of \$3,502 for the Conway Parks Department per the Compromise, Settlement and Release Agreement between Carter & Burgess, Inc., Nabholz Construction Corporation and the City of Conway. *Vote 8-0*
- Ordinance {O-10-83} to repeal Ordinance O-10-65 that regulated the possession, sale and ingestion of K-2 within the City of Conway. *Vote 6-1-1 w/ Alderman Vaught voting against and Alderman Hawkins voting present.*

Ordinances Failed: None

Resolutions Passed:

- Resolution {R-10-37} authorizing the Mayor & City Clerk to enter into the termination and assignment agreement with co-owners of the Independence Steam Electric Station 2. *Vote 8-0*
- Resolution {R-10-38} setting a public hearing on August 10, 2010 to discuss closing an easement located on Lot 1 in University Park Subdivision. *Vote 8-0*
- Resolution {R-10-39} requesting the Faulkner County Tax Collector to place a certified lien on property located at <u>4910 College Avenue</u> as a result of incurred expenses by the City. *Vote 8-0*

- Resolution {R-10-40} requesting the Faulkner County Tax Collector to place a certified lien on property located at 1515 Freyaldenhoven Lane as a result of incurred expenses by the City. Vote 8-0
- Resolution {R-10-41} requesting the Faulkner County Tax Collector to place a certified lien on • property located at <u>2 Eve Lane</u> as a result of incurred expenses by the City. Vote 8-0

Resolutions Failed: None

Other Actions:

In other actions, the City Council:

- Approved the minutes from July 13th, 2010 City Council Meeting. *Vote 8-0* •
- Approved the consent order (as amended) in the matter of the City of Conway vs. Todd A. Bruns. Vote 8-0

Held in Committee/No Action Taken

Resolution ordering the demolition of a structure at 11 Mockingbird Lane. Vote 8-0 ٠

Employee Service Awards

5 Years

15 Years

Jamie Brice James Duvall Luke Williamson	Finance CFD Fire	Todd Wilson Jimmy McJunkins Angelina Loeschner	Street Police Police
<u>10 Years</u>		Capt. Danny Shock Capt. Phillip Short Lt. David Groves	Fire Fire Fire
Jeff Hill	Fire	Farris Parks Shon Randles Assistant Chief Mike Winter	Fire Fire Fire

25 Years

Major Bill Milburn Police

Next City Council Meeting: August 10th, 2010 Deadline: August 3rd, 2010 @ 12:00pm Email all submittals to felicia.rogers@cityofconway.org