

PLANNING COMMISSION MEETING

Russell L. "Jack" Roberts District Court Building • 810 Parkway Street • Conway, Arkansas 72034

December 19, 2016, 7:00 pm

The regular meeting of the Conway Planning Commission was held Monday, December 19, 2016 in the Russell L. "Jack" Roberts District Court Building. Present: Chairman Mark Lewis, Vice-Chairman Matthew Brown, Marilyn Armstrong, Justin Brown, Wendy Shirar, Bryan Quinn, Jerry Rye, Dalencia Hervey, and Anne Tucker. Brooks Freeman was absent.

Chairman Lewis called the meeting order.

The Conway Planning Commission makes recommendations to the City Council on public hearing items. The City Council will make a final decision on these items using the Planning Commission's recommendation as a guide. Items not approved by the Planning Commission may be appealed to the City Council within 30 days after the Planning Commission's denial. If an item is appealed to the City Council a public hearing sign must be placed on the property no less than 7 days prior to the City Council meeting and a public notice will be placed on the City's website at <u>www.cityofconway.org</u>. Items reviewed by the Planning Commission on this agenda may be considered by the City Council on January 10, 2017.

Minutes from the November meeting were approved unanimously on a motion made by Anne Tucker and seconded by Wendy Shirar.

The procedure followed for the public hearing portion of the meeting is to allow the first representative to speak in favor of a request for ten minutes and each subsequent favorable speaker for two minutes each. Then, if there is any opposition, the first speaker opposed to the request may speak for ten minutes and each subsequent opposed speaker for two minutes each. Anyone wishing to speak either for or against an item may do so on any public hearing issue presented. Once all public parties have spoken the item will be brought back into committee for discussion.

I. SUBDIVISION

A. The preliminary plat for Fox Ridge Addition Subdivision was reviewed by the Subdivision Committee and it was decided to hold the item in committee until the January 2017 meeting to allow more time for the developer and city departments to coordinate and resolve questions pertaining to Clearwell Road.

II. PUBLIC HEARINGS

A. Conway Corporation's request to rezone property located at 732 and 740 South Harkrider Street from C-3 to I-3 was was approved 8-0-1 on a motion made by Bryan Quinn and seconded by Dalencia Hervey. Matthew Brown abstained. Tommy Shackleford, Chief Operating Officer for Conway Corporation, 1815 Foster Drive, presented the request. Mr. Shackleford explained that Conway Corporation owns the property and wishes to rezone it to make it's South Harkrider campus congruent as a step towards future expansion. The Planning Commission had some

concerns for how future buildings/outbuildings would appear in an I-3 zone. Bryan Patrick, Director of Planning & Development, assured the Planning Commission that any new buildings would be required to meet Development Review standards and that the building façades would be presentable and "dressed up".

B. Superior Manor, LLC's request to rezone property located at 625 Tommy Lewis Drive from C-4 to O-1 was approved 9-0 on a motion made by Anne Tucker and seconded by Jerry Rye. Dirk Thibodaux, civil engineer with Gray Rock, LLC, 52 Village Parkway, Rogers, AR, presented the request on behalf of the applicant. Mr. Thibodaux explained that with the current C-4 zoning the planned parking areas could not be any closer to the street than the building. In other, nearby developments parking setbacks are less than building setbacks, making more efficient use of the site. Mr. Thibodaux requested the rezoning to proceed with the planned development of an assisted living facility whose site development would fit better with the surrounding developments.

III. DICUSSION

- A. Following service awards being presented by Bryan Patrick to outgoing commissioners, Mark Lewis and Matthew Brown, the remaining Planning Commissioners selected officers for 2017. They approved Anne Tucker to serve as Chairman, Jerry Rye as Vice-Chairman, and Justin Brown as Secretary.
- B. The Planning Commission approved the following committee assignments for 2017:
 - 1. Annexation Committee
 - a. Justin Brown, Chairman
 - b. Bryan Quinn
 - c. Arthur Ingram
 - d. Brooks Freeman
 - e. Anne Tucker
 - 2. Conditional Use Committee
 - a. Jerry Rye, Chairman
 - b. Brandon Ruhl
 - c. Brooks Freeman
 - d. Bryan Quinn
 - e. Anne Tucker
 - 3. Subdivision Committee
 - a. Marilyn Armstrong, Chairman
 - b. Dalencia Hervey
 - c. Justin Brown
 - d. Brandon Ruhl
 - e. Wendy Shirar
 - 4. Zoning Committee
 - a. Wendy Shirar, Chairman
 - b. Arthur Ingram
 - c. Marilyn Armstrong
 - d. Dalencia Hervey
 - e. Jerry Rye
- C. The Planning Commission reviewed the proposed 2017 meeting and submission deadline schedule and opted to move the March meeting from March 20 to March 13 so as not to conflict with Conway Public Schools' Spring Break. This was approved 9-0 on a motion made by Anne Tucker and seconded by Dalencia Hervey.

IV. ITEMS NOT REQUIRING PLANNING COMMISSION ACTION

- A. Development Reviews
 - 1. TLC Pediatrics, 955 Carolyn Lane
 - 2. Linen King, 1775 Whitten Road
 - 3. TH-Conway (Conway Hospital), 805 East Oak Street
 - 4. John Daly's Steakhouse & Lofts @ 912, 910 and 912 Front Street
- B. Lot Splits, Lot Mergers, and Minor Subdivisions (filed for record)
 - 1. MNB Replat
 - 2. Ramada Inn Replat

There being no further business to conduct, the meeting was adjourned by a unanimous vote on a motion made by Anne Tucker and seconded by Wendy Shirar.